Listen Live  
Radio Free - radiofree.org
Radio Free never takes money from corporations, keeping our focus on people, not profits. Radio Free is an independent, free news organization headquartered in Tucson, Arizona. We are currently in need of community volunteers to help cover local politics. To learn more and get involved, please visit radiofree.org.

Israel will hold new elections after Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu failed to form a coalition government in six weeks of negotiations following the April 9 election. This marks the first time in Israeli history a prime minister-designate has failed to form a coalition government. The news comes as the United States is continuing to promote a controversial Middle East peace plan drawn up by President Trump’s son-in-law Jared Kushner, who is in Israel today along with special envoy Jason Greenblatt. But the Israeli newspaper Haaretz reports that the political crisis in Israel could kill the U.S. plan, which will be partially unveiled at a conference in Bahrain next month. Palestinian officials have vowed to boycott the conference and dismissed any attempts to tackle peace talks in the region without addressing human rights and the Israeli occupation. We speak with longtime Palestinian diplomat Hanan Ashrawi, a member of the Palestine Liberation Organization’s executive committee. The United States recently denied Ashrawi a visa to enter the country.

Please check back later for full transcript.

Citations

[1]Noam Chomsky: Trump's "Economic Boom" Is a Sham .... https://truthout.org/articles/noam-chomsky-trumps-economic-boom-is-a-sham/[2]Trump Is Trying to Ban Climate Science Because... Obama? .... https://truthout.org/articles/trump-is-trying-to-ban-climate-science-because-obama/[3]US Abortion Rights Activists Can Draw Inspiration From Ireland .... https://truthout.org/articles/us-abortion-rights-activists-can-draw-inspiration-from-ireland/[4]Big Oil Pushes Corporate-Friendly Carbon Tax to Halt Green New Deal Wave .... https://truthout.org/articles/big-oil-pushes-corporate-friendly-carbon-tax-to-halt-green-new-deal-wave/[5]Philosopher Herbert Marcuse on the Rise of Fascism in Europe .... https://truthout.org/articles/philosopher-herbert-marcuse-on-the-rise-of-fascism-in-europe/[6]Key US Allies in the Middle East Are the Real Tyrants .... https://truthout.org/articles/key-us-allies-in-the-middle-east-are-the-real-tyrants/[7]Palestinian Officials Dismiss Jared Kushner's So-Called "Peace Plan" .... https://truthout.org/video/palestinian-officials-dismiss-jared-kushners-so-called-peace-plan/